Chrispy
Nov 24 2003, 01:19 PM
Fraud Warning - this isn't a joke
It seems that there is a Fraudster at large masquerading as a UK Wide entertainments agency based in Lancashire, and attempting to entice a fee for agency services from D.J's!.
If you receive an email from "The Neon Rainbow Entertainment and Leisure Agency" then under NO CIRCUMSTANCES send them any money!!!!.
The email (which originates from a Hotmail address) appears to be very professional and well written, however, the recipient is encouraged to send a £50 registration to them, via Paypal, in order to be supplied with at least £3000 worth of bookings from them throughout 2004. The email is signed "N. Agostini".
THIS EMAIL IS A HOAX - THE COMPANY & ADDRESS DOES NOT EXIST!!!
It seems that D.J's are being targeted by using Website & MSN Addresses perhaps randomly or via a directory. Contact has been made with at least 2 D.J's from this forum, and you could be next!.
Whilst many veteran D.J's won't easily fall for this sort of con, it may be that Younger members see it as an opportunity to get bookings, and get ripped off!.
No legitimate agency will charge you a subsription fee, since almost all of them work on a commission basis. If you come across any agency charging a fee, then be very suspicious, and at least visit them first, before parting with any money.
This Warning is in relation only to an email received from The Neon Rainbow Entertainment and Leisure Agency of Faulds Park Road, District 12, Lancashire and has no relation to any company trading under a similar name.
Note to Mods:- Please keep this topic bumped to the top for the next week or so, since "pinned" topics tend to go un-noticed here!.
tonyj
Nov 24 2003, 01:24 PM
i'm in Lancashire and i've never heard of an address like that district 12??????
Chrispy
Nov 24 2003, 01:28 PM
It Doesn't Exist! As on the original post:-
| QUOTE |
THIS EMAIL IS A HOAX - THE COMPANY & ADDRESS DOES NOT EXIST!!!
|
Sounds like whoever is running this, has just used bits of other addresses "District 12" sounds like a trading estate or similar. Either way its pretty obvious that its a con, and the problem with Paypal payments, is that they may not even be based in the UK.
NineLives
Nov 24 2003, 01:35 PM
Bump
kazzachi
Nov 24 2003, 02:25 PM
isnt it a shame that with these fraudsters being annonymous we cant do anything to em!
Ian Stewart
Nov 24 2003, 04:52 PM
there is, contact the DTI, that is who deals with this sort of thing
Dj_Kray
Nov 24 2003, 04:58 PM
thanks for the warning chris
Whisky In A Vase
Nov 24 2003, 07:39 PM
cheers chris
thanks for the warning
C.S
Nov 24 2003, 08:56 PM
Bump again
Dukesy
Nov 24 2003, 09:26 PM
Here is another good reason why the forum is worth joining.
I wonder how many non-members have had direct emails from this cunning and deceptive 'character', and parted with hard earned cash?
Dj_Kray
Nov 24 2003, 10:13 PM
| QUOTE (kazzachi @ Nov 24 2003, 03:26 PM) |
| isnt it a shame that with these fraudsters being annonymous we cant do anything to em! |
kazzachi
Nov 24 2003, 11:30 PM
... I dont know what I would do with them... but I would try and make sure it was something that would cost them a lot of money!! Dont know how much good the DTI would be when they are untraceable... perhaps the best way to alert people (apart from on the forum of course) is to get the press to advertise that it is a con.
Chrispy
Nov 24 2003, 11:45 PM
| QUOTE |
| Dont know how much good the DTI would be when they are untraceable |
Actually they may not be as untraceable as they may think. One of our members has kindly forwarded the email & original header, which has been sent from a Yahoo.co.uk address. They are using a remailer to try and hide their identity but its not an anonomous one!. By using tracert i've managed to to trace each ip back to it's originating one, which could be their own ISP. It appears to come from either a claranet ISP account or email account either way they should be tracable by the relevant authorities
The problem is mainly getting the correct people to take it seriously, I've reported the matter to Paypal, and so has the one member who has been scammed by them!, but Paypal haven't yet replied

. Technically they should be easily traceable by their paypal Credit Card, or Bank details, but it need more than a handful of people to be scammed to get them to get permission to take it further!.
mikeee
Nov 25 2003, 02:27 AM
Chris,
If you want to email me a copy, I'll run it by the local nick, the computer / internet crime squad may be interested. I can't find my DTI link, but there is an agency division, that deals with anyone working within the realms of the Employment Agents Act 1974, & The Employment Act 2000. etc etc etc
kazzachi
Nov 25 2003, 09:06 AM
Hey Crispy... If you manage to locate the little xxx's how about sharing their details so we can all e mail them and tell them what we think!
Gary
Nov 25 2003, 09:43 AM
| QUOTE (mikeee @ Nov 25 2003, 03:27 AM) |
Chris,
If you want to email me a copy, I'll run it by the local nick, the computer / internet crime squad may be interested. I can't find my DTI link, but there is an agency division, that deals with anyone working within the realms of the Employment Agents Act 1974, & The Employment Act 2000. etc etc etc |
Crikey Mikeee.... how much does it cost to get your Batmobile valeted nowadays...I can see we'll have to have a whip-round and buy you a new dear-stalker hat.
Well done to Chris for drawing this matter to everyones attention.
It would be all too easy for me to say "I wouldn't have been taken in by this sort of scam" (Always easier AFTER the event), but I can see how newer DJ's, hungry for gigs, would go for it.
This is yet another example of why a forum, which can be updated/posted to instantly, is better than a hardcopy magazine, which could still report on such matters, but you might not read about it, until after you'd sent the cheque off.
Would the Congleton Evening Echo/Gazette be interested in this as a story? Internet Forum saves 1000 from con-artist" ... Free advertising for the forum...Yay!
The Spindoctor
Nov 25 2003, 01:15 PM
Bump!
The Spindoctor
Nov 25 2003, 05:18 PM
Bump to the top again!
Paul Smith
Nov 25 2003, 11:16 PM
I hope he/she/them is/are caught and publicly humiliated
Dj_Kray
Nov 26 2003, 12:55 AM
| QUOTE (Gary @ Nov 25 2003, 10:44 AM) |
Crikey Mikeee.... how much does it cost to get your Batmobile valeted nowadays...I can see we'll have to have a whip-round and buy you a new dear-stalker hat.
|

lol
oh yes and bump
You will have to keep us posted of any developments.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.